Anaheim Ducks Finally Win in Regulation, Top Arizona Coyotes 2-1

5 of 5

November 23, 2014; Anaheim, CA, USA; Anaheim Ducks center Ryan Getzlaf (15) moves the puck against the Arizona Coyotes during the third period at Honda Center. Mandatory Credit: Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports

The Ducks will return to action Tuesday in a rematch with the Calgary Flames. The Ducks were up 2-0 after 40 minutes against the Flames on Tuesday before blowing the two goal lead in the third period and ultimately falling in the shootout 4-3. The Flames are currently third in the Pacific Division and fifth in the Western Conference, just as they were last Tuesday before the Ducks faced them.

Calgary is coming off a five-game homestand where they went 4-1-0, including a dramatic 5-4 comeback win over the New Jersey Devils in a shootout on Saturday, where they trailed by two with three minutes left. The Flames will not play a game between Saturday and Tuesday, leaving them fairly well rested. It should be the first game back in Anaheim for Flames netminder Jonas Hiller, who left the Ducks this offseason after winning 174 contests for the Ducks (including the postseason) over seven seasons.

Point Streaks, General Notes:

Vatanen has points in three straight games (1 G, 4 A) and eight of nine (2 G, 9 A). He is now third in the NHL in points among defensemen (18, behind Mark Giordano of the Flames and Brent Burns of the Sharks).

The Ducks were beat soundly in the faceoff circle, winning only 24 of 59 draws (40.7%). Only Getzlaf finished with a faceoff win % over 50% (7/13). The rest of the centers went 16/45 (35.6%) (Maroon won his only faceoff). Rickard Rakell was particularly abused, winning only two of his 11 faceoffs. Vermette led the way for Arizona, winning 18 of his 29 faceoffs. Arizona did this without Martin Hanzal, one of the league’s top faceoff men.

Maroon netted the eventual game-winning goal, giving the Ducks ten different players who have scored their game-winning goals (the Ducks have ten regulation and overtime wins: their three shootout winners do not count). Their game-winners have been scored by Getzlaf, William Karlsson, Perry, Matt Beleskey, Kesler, Vatanen, Devante Smith-Pelly, Nate Thompson, Fowler, and Maroon, in order (Detroit, Buffalo, Minnesota, St. Louis, Buffalo, Columbus, Chicago, Dallas, Colorado, and Arizona in order).

No Ducks forward hit 18 minutes of ice time on the night. Getzlaf led the way with 17:54, and Kesler and Thompson were next (16:49 and 16:46, respectively). Bourque played the least, at 9:54.