Fort Wayne Komets Hand Out Season Awards

Fort Wayne, IN – The Fort Wayne Komets have announced the end of the season awards. They range from determination to MVP.

The first award issued was the Bud Gallmeier Memorial Trophy/Community Service Award. This is awarded to the Komet who is dedicated not only to the game of hockey, but also to serving the Fort Wayne community. The 2012-13 winner was goalie Charlie Effinger.

Next on the list is the Wiegmann Family “True Komet” Award. This is awarded to the player that best exemplifies the team spirit and has a positive attitude on and off the ice.  The 2012-13 winner was center Brett Smith.

The NOB Brick Award was awarded next. This goes to the most defensive forward on the team. Right winger Jean-Michel Rizk went home with this honor.

This year’s Mr. Hustle is right winger Brandon Marino.

Smith was also awarded the Unsung Hero Award. This award is in tribute to Komet Hall-of-Famers Robbie Irons and Terry Pembroke, given to the player whose hard work, dedication to his teammates and love of the game is in the true spirit of Komet legends Robbie Irons and Terry Pembroke.

Most Improved Player for the 2012-13 season was defenseman Ryan Hegarty.

The Defenseman of the Year went to Tyler Butler.

The final award, and the only one voted on by the players, was team MVP. Marino went home with this honor.

Next Ducks Game Full schedule »
Sunday, Nov 22 Nov6:00at Colorado AvalancheBuy Tickets

Tags: Awards Brandon Marino Brett Smith Charlie Effinger Fort Wayne Komets Jean-Michel Rizk Ryan Hegarty Tyler Butler

comments powered by Disqus