Komets Dominate Wings Behind Brittain’s Hat Trick

Komets vs Kalamazoo

Komets welcome Wings in return home.

Fort Wayne, IN – The Komets returned home tonight and wasted no time in scoring on the Kalamazoo Wings (10-11-2). Luca Caputi scored the first two goals of the game at the 4:37 and 9:23 marks respectively doubling is season total.

Matt Firman scored his fourth goal of the year at the 12:37 mark to make it a 3-0 score, but Kalamazoo’s Nick Sirota score 21 seconds later to make it a 3-1 contest.

The Komets (12-9-1) continued the onslaught with goals by Jean-Michel Rizk (2:57) and Josh Brittain (9:42). That was enough for Kalamazoo coach Nick Bootland as he pulled starting goalie Joel Martin during the second intermission.

The Wings attempted a come with goals by Aaron Clarke (1:05) and John Armstrong (3:46). However in an attempt to score with the extra attacker, Brittain scored an empty-netter for his second goal of the night at 19:15. Ten seconds later he completed the hat trick for the night.

The Wings went 0 for 6 on the power play, while the Komets were 0 for 4.

The next game for the Komets will be on the road in Reading, PA at 7:05 PM EST (4:05 PM PST). The next home game will be Sunday in a rematch with Kalamazoo at 5:30 PM EST (2:30 PM PST). As always, audio is available through the Komets website.

Three Stars:

1:  FW Josh Brittain (3 G, 0 A, +2)

2: FW Luca Caputi (2 G, 0 A, +2)

3: FW Brett Smith (0 G, 3 A, +3)

SOG:

Team               1   2   3   T

Kalamazoo   11 10 9  30

Fort Wayne  19  9  11 39

Topics: Anaheim Ducks, Fort Wayne Komets, Game Recap, Popular Featured

Want more from Pucks of a Feather?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.